Neurosurgery at UF

Shortly after the opening of the UF College of Medicine in 1958, the Division of Neurosurgery began under the direction of Dr. Lamar Roberts.  In 1972, Dr. Albert L. Rhoton, Jr. assumed the position of Division Chief.  Later he became the first Chair of the new Department of Neurosurgery.  In 1999, Dr. William A. Friedman became the second Chair of the Department.  Under Drs. Rhoton and Friedman the Department grew to national and international prominence.

Today, the Department is under the leadership of Dr. Brian L. Hoh.  It has grown to nineteen clinical and twelve research faculty.  The department is known worldwide for expertise in movement disorder surgery, radiosurgery, cerebrovascular/endovascular neurosurgery, and brain tumor surgery.  We have a stellar brain tumor research group focused on first in human immunotherapy trials.  We have just moved into a new neuromedicine hospital.

Throughout our tremendous growth and development over the last 50 years, we continue the unwavering committments to:

  • Excellence in Patient Care
  • Excellence in Education
  • Excellence in Research

To contact us call our offices in Gainesville at:
(352) 273-9000 OR (800) 633-2122, ext. 39000.