Neurosurgery at UF

Shortly after the opening of the UF College of Medicine in 1958, the Division of Neurosurgery began under the direction of Dr. Lamar Roberts and one faculty member, Dr. Francisco Garcia-Bengochea. In 1972, Dr. Albert Rhoton assumed the chairmanship of this fledgling division and led its’ development to a Department of national and international prominence.

Today, under the leadership of Dr. William A. Friedman the department has grown to nineteen clinical faculty, eleven research and education faculty, seventeen resident physicians plus two clinical fellowships, eight advanced registered nurse practitioners, a medical illustrator and twelve clinical research staff.

In addition there are four joint faculty shared with other departments.

Throughout our tremendous growth and development over the last 50 years, we continue the unwavering committments to:

  • Excellence in Patient Care
  • Excellence in Education
  • Excellence in Research

In this brief video Dr. William Friedman, director and chairman of the Department of Neurological Surgery talks about the history and development of the department:

To contact us call our offices in Gainesville at:
(352) 273-9000 OR (800) 633-2122, ext. 39000.



Tagged as: